Population Dynamics Seminars

Seminars about Quantitative Life-Science and Biophysics
hosted by the group of Rosalind Allen

School of Physics and AstronomyThe University of Edinburgh
Friedrich Schiller University Jena

Organised by Marco Mauri

We are running a series of virtual seminars on Population Dynamics and more broadly about Quantitative Biology, Computational Life Science, and Theoretical Biophysics. The talks are often at the interface among biology, physics, and mathematics. We ask people who have written interesting papers to join us and present their papers. The meetings are open to everyone! Please register at the bottom of this page.

The meetings will take place on zoom, roughly every three weeks, on Fridays at 2.30pm UK time (3:30pm Europe, 8:30am CST, 8:00pm IST). 

Date Speaker Title and abstract Suggested reading
17th September 2021
14:30 GMT, 15:30 CET 
Mary Dunlop
Boston University
Dynamics, Feedback, and Transient Antibiotic Resistance in Single Cells Paper 1
Paper 2
1st October 2021
14:30 GMT, 15:30 CET 
Ákos Kovács
Technical University of Denmark - DTU
Beyond antimicrobial activity: the promiscuous functions of specialized metabolites in Bacilli Paper 1
Paper 2
Paper 3
22nd October 2021
14:30 GMT, 15:30 CET 
Simone Pompei
IFOM Milano
Drug-induced colorectal cancer persister cells show increased mutation rate Paper 1
12th November 2021
15:00 GMT, 16:00 CET 
Vernita Gordon
University of Texas Austin
Pseudomonas aeruginosa respond to surface stiffness via signaling and growth during early biofilm formation Paper 1
Paper 2
Paper 3
10th January 2022
14:00 GMT, 15:00 CET 
Ariel Amir
Harvard University
Statistical physics of microbial growth:
fluctuations, phase transitions and large deviations
-
28th January 2022
16:00 GMT, 17:00 CET 
Wenying Shou
Alex Yuan
University College London
A rigorous and general statistical test for correlations between time series -
11th February 2022
14:30 GMT, 15:30 CET 
Namiko Mitarai
Niels Bohr Institute, University of Copenhagen and
Godwin Stephenson
National Centre for Biological Sciences, Bangalore
Co-existence and extinction due to surfing viral
infections in a spatially expanding bacterial colony
-
4th March 2022
14:30 GMT, 15:30 CET 
Diana Fusco
University of Cambridge
The inevitable emergence of density-dependent
diffusion in expanding phage populations
-
25th March 2022
14:30 GMT, 15:30 CET 
Sven van Teeffelen
University of Montreal
Coordination of bacterial cell shape and growth Paper 1
6th May 2022
14:30 BST, 15:30 CEST 
Anne-Florence Bitbol
EPFL
Impact of population spatial structure on mutant fixation probabilities, from models on graphs to the gut Paper 1
Paper 2
27th May 2022
14:30 BST, 15:30 CEST 
Fordyce Davidson
University of Dundee
The Architecture of Bacterial Biofilms Paper 1
Paper 2
Paper 3
Paper 4
17th June 2022
14:30 BST, 15:30 CEST
Marjon de Vos
University of Groningen
Eco-evolutionary interactions in polymicrobial infections -
8th July 2022
14:30 BST, 15:30 CEST 
Alma Dal Co
University of Lausanne
Spatial Interaction networks in microbial communities Paper 1
23rd September 2022
14:30 BST, 15:30 CEST 
Philippe Glaser
Pasteur Institute
Phylogeography of pathogenic E. coli across Belgium cattle farms -
Postponed Hildegard Uecker
Max Planck Institute for Evolutionary Biology Plön
- -
17th October 2022
14:30 BST, 15:30 CEST 
Maxime Ardré
Laboratoire Génétique de l’Evolution - ESPCI Paris
A leader cell triggers end of lag phase in populations of Pseudomonas fluorescens Paper 1
4th November 2022
14:30 GMT, 15:30 CET 
Wolfram Möbius
University of Exeter
Geometry as a predictor for evolutionary dynamics of populations undergoing range expansions in fragmented environments Paper 1
Paper 2
Paper 3

Download the iCal or copy the Url for an automatic update.

Join our virtual seminars!
 It is free. Fill in the form. 
We will send you the link to participate.

Thank you! Your message has been sent.
Unable to send your message. Please fix errors then try again.

To unsubscribe, click here!

Other interesting resources are the 

Theory of Biological Systems virtual seminar series

Theory of Living Systems

Biological Physics & Physical Biology Seminar

Theoretical Ecology Webinars

Cell Size & Growth seminars

Max Planck School Matter to Life Lectures 

Modelling in Ecology and Evolution Meeting

and the Theoretical Biophysics Twitter channel